What is Pre-Trial Diversion?
A program for first time offenders with non-violent crimes and non-DUI traffic violations.
Is there a program fee?
Yes. The program fee is determined by Assistant District Attorney.
Where is payment made?

Payments must be made online by going to https://www.officialpayments.com/.  From there, select Local Payments.  Then, choose Georgia > Chatham County > Pre-Trial Diversion Fees.

Payments may be made on the day of Court, but will result in a delay of the resolution of the case.  DO NOT CONTACT THE CLERK OF COURT. NO CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED. PAYMENTS ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

District Attorney's office:
Chatham County Courthouse
133 Montgomery Street, Suite 600
Savannah, GA 31401

District Attorney's mailing address:
Chatham County Office of District Attorney
ATTN: Pre-Trial Diversion Program
133 Montgomery Street, Suite 600
Savannah, GA 31402
How long do I have to complete terms and conditions?
Sixty (60) days.
What if I am unable to complete program in 60 days?
An extension/continuance can be requested by completing a request form at the District Attorney's office or submitted via e-mail on the website.
Upon completion of the program what happens next?
A nolle prosequi order will be filed or a dismissal order will be filed and the record may be restricted.
What happens if I have a new violation?
Any new violation including traffic tickets may result in withdrawal from the program. Any new violation must be reported to the DAO office within 72 hours of violation.
Where can I complete community service hours?
Community service hours may be completed at any non-profit organization. A signed letter from the organization giving a contact person for the organization, a phone number, and the number of hours completed must be provide to DAO. Fraudulent forms will result in prosecution for a felony. NO PRIVATE FOR PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. MAY NOT BE DONE FOR WORK OR SCHOOL CREDIT.
What course of treatment can be completed online?
Shoplifting courses can be completed online at http://www.shopliftingprevention.org. The course must be at least 4 hours long. You can also contact PRIDE Probation at (912) 356-0041 for course information.

What course of treatment cannot be completed online?
a. Anger Management Course must be certified and cannot be completed online. The following is a list of places that offer certified courses: Recovery Place, Union Mission, and Success for Children and Families. (This is not an exclusive list).

b. Substance Abuse Treatment must be certified and cannot be completed online. The following is a list of places that offer certified courses: Recovery Place, Union Mission, Health Services, and Success for Children and Families. (This is not an exclusive list).

c. Domestic Violence Courses must be certified and cannot be completed online. Certified courses can be completed at Recovery Place, Seaport Christian Counseling, or Success for Children and Families.

d. Parenting Classes cannot be completed online. Contact Department of Family and Children Services for classes at (912) 651-2211 or Success for Children and Families at (912) 323-9784 or (800) 628-9202. There may be free classes offered through churches in the community.

e. Victim Impact Panel cannot be an online course. Contact MADD of Georgia at (888) 833-6033 for course information.


What information is available for other course of treatment programs?
a. Drug Testing is required for every person in program for a drug charge. The drug screen is at your own expense at a certified lab, hospital, doctor's office, or clinic. This certificate must be provided the DAO office and must be for your own drug test.

b. Defensive Driving Courses must be an approved state course.

c. Boating Safety Courses - Contact Department of Natural Resources at (912) 264-7218.

d. Gun Safety Courses – Contact Department of Natural Resources at (912) 264-7218.
What if I choose not to complete or participate in Pre-Trial Diversion?
The prosecution of your case will continue. If convicted, you may be punished for each offense by a fine of up to $1000 and imprisonment of up to 12 months.
What if I fail out or do not complete Pre-Trial Diversion within the time frame?
The prosecution of your case will continue. If convicted, you may be punished for each offense by a fine of up to $1000 and imprisonment of up to 12 months. Case will be moved to a bench trial docket as the right to a jury trial has been waived.
Am I required to report for scheduled court date and when do I report?
Yes. If you signed up in Recorder's Court the subpoena is attached with the court date. Failure to appear will result in removal from Pre Trial Diversion. All other court dates will require a personal appearance until case is resolved. Exception:
(1) You have an approved continuance;
(2) Paid fee and completed all terms/ conditions; or
(3) Mailed in or dropped off fee and required documents on Friday before scheduled court date.